Stocks

In 6th grade Language Arts we did many very fun projects. However, one of my favorite projects we have done is the stocks project. For this project we had to pick some places to invest in and then we updated our stocks spread sheet every week so we could see how much money that we gained or lost. We did this project in 6th grade Language Arts because we were reading a book called The Westing Game and in this book there is a character named Turtle Wexler and she follows the stock market.

One of my favorite parts about this project was when we made the spread sheet. I enjoyed this because we got to make formulas so the spread sheet did the math for us and I found it really cool how it worked. The hardest part about this assignment was deciding what stocks to invest in. This was hard because there are so many stocks that you could invest in. In the end I invested in Starbucks, Wells Fargo, Bank Of America, Home Depot, Visa and American Express. At the start I was doing really well I was earning $654.32! However, my success did not last long because Bank of America stocks dropped down a lot and a little later so did Starbucks. I thought that at the end of this assignment that I would be in the negatives but then last second they went up a little and I ended up earning $78.46. Overall, this was by far one of my favorite Language Arts project this year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *